Search :
   

THE CHURCH

Triptyque à disposition des visiteurs - téléchargeable

The Church of Saint Martin,l’Aigle

Welcome to Saint Martin !

The main Church of L’Aigle is under the patronage of the bishop of Tours, who died in 307. The building is a curious mixture of varied but harmonious styles, straddling five epochs. The church was built in the XI century. Its differs from many churches which are on the shape of the Latin cross. The remaining Romanesque part in the twelfth century, in grison stone (rough stone of the Pays d’Ouche) is composed of its bell tower with its elegant slate arrow pinnacle. It houses the baptistery built in 1936 and 1937.  

On the side of rue Carnot, the apse, built in grison (grey) stone is keyed by two strong buttresses with three blind windows in the Gothic style. At the other end, the west façade built in stone with a defence element (machicoulis) above the main entrance shows the transition in style from the XII to XIII centuries. A wooden vaulted nave connects them.

In 1426 (this date has been certified by dendrochronology), the church expanded with a chapel of the Rosary occupying what is today the first bay of the north aisle. After the Hundred Years War, prosperity returned. From 1494 to 1499 three new bays were added to the nave (adjacent to Square P. Girard). ). In 1494, the mighty and majestic Tower of Saint Martin was built, in the full flowering of the Gothic style.

At the same time, in 1494, the congregation founded a « Brotherhood of Charity ». These lay associations are a particular feature in Normandy, covering what is today l’Eure and the eastern part of the Orne (Pays d'Ouche). They were intended to provide a Christian burial and prayers for the deceased members and relief for the surviving families. These kinds of mutual aid societies were funded by the contributions of each member, according to their means. Almost the entire population belonged.

The Patron Saint of this « Charity » was St Portien (Porcien) whose relic’s l’Aigle shares with St-Pourçain-sur-Sioul, in Bourbonnais, Auvergne where this monk is still revered.

St Martin’s tower was completed in 1498, the charity members contributed the largest of our bells,  4000 pounds in weight, named Poursainte  which for over 500 years has dominated the chimes.

Finally from 1542 to 1563 (17 years), the southern nave was built ( adjacent to Place St Martin) with its vaulted Renaissance pendants and decorative motifs.

 

The main altar and the beautiful altarpiece are from the XVII century. The central painting ‘Descent from the Cross’ attributed to Simon Vouet, is flanked by Saint Martin (with his mitre) patron of the parish and to his right the monk Saint Porcien, patron of the city. Saint Sébastien and Saint Roch, stand side by side with them on the pediment, together with many other Saints. It is overlooked by Christ carrying the earth

 

 

During the revolution the church became the « temple of the goddess of reason » and outside, at the base of the windows, there is an inscription: « The French people believe in the Supreme Being and the immortality of the soul ». This sentence, attributed to Robespierre was still partially readable until 1950.

During the XIX century, work to beautify the church overloaded its means to pay. Around 1890, Father GONTIER removed the shingle vault behind the brick vault built in the Gothic style.

Father Paul Girard in 1936 repaired the organs, by dividing the case in two parts to clear the west window, with its beautiful stained glass with a musical theme.

In 1935, he began restoration of the furniture, stained glass windows and statues.           

The bombing of June 7, 1944 caused major damage including the loss of six ancient windows and two twentieth century windows.

 

In 1947, re-organised into its present state, the furniture of the church of St.Martin is blending happily with the old. The two fifteenth century windows survived the disaster: one dedicated to Saint Porcien, (D) (above the altarpiece, adjacent to Place St Martin), the other Chasse de St Hubert, (4th bay next to Square Paul Girard) (J)

The two restored windows fit well with the windows of our time due to the work of famous master glassmakers: Louis et Jean Barillet et Max Ingrand.

The contemporary work of Lambert-Rucki (Christ on the Cross, St Teresa, St Antony) was added to the older work (Virgin of the Fig tree, Trinity, Saint Jacques) of the XVII century. The Pieta by Léon Drivier (1951), the screen of the Baptistery and the arabesque copper communion altar give artistic harmony appreciated by the connoisseur.

Father Paul GIRARD (1875-1964), priest from 1922 to 1962, was the architect of this restoration. His burial place is in front of the altar of the Blessed Sacrament (south aisle). The square on the north side is named after him. On rue Thiers, the memorial to Abbé Girard was made in 1992 by Serge Santucci, in honour of his much other work for the people. All post-war contributions are the integration of contemporary art in this monument, classified as “Historic” in 1992.

Outside, on the façade of Place St Martin, you will see nine statues integrated into their Renaissance niches, carved by famous sculptors in the years after 1947:

Outside, on raising your eyes, you notice the (elegant) Clock Tower and the Tower of St Martin. This tower has a rich decoration in “flamboyant Gothic”. The buttresses are adorned with statues placed on pedestals of various shapes and highly decorated.

All the statues are clothed and shaped in such a way that they can be seen from a distance. We can recognize the following:

In addition to the ornamentation of this tower, we need to point out the coat of arms of Britanny on the window ledge of the East window of the South façade. The pounding of the central ermine may be a sign of a change in response to the order given by Louis XII to the barons of l’Aigle to no longer be called of Brittany and no longer bear arms.

We can see in the center of the railing to the west, the coat of arms of l’Aigle and those of France, marked by an open crown dated to the first quarter of the XVI century on the turret under the statue of the Cardinal.

We can also see that the pavilion roof is very old. It seems that this crowning in stone was never realised. The shape of the skylights, the traces of lead in the paint that was visible in 1840 and the arrangement of the tiles are all elements that suggest the authenticity of the roof. In 1951, the roof of the turret is altred by a stonemason of L'Aigle.

This roof in the shape of « an axe head » is surmounted by two statues, covered with lead : an angel and a woman (representing the Annunciation) which crown the two pinnacles. In the centre, a metal rod decorated with foliage holds the weather vane, our emblem: an Eagle.

Inside the Tower, a huge belfry is set at a low level in the tower to avoid collapse. There are three bells, including « La Porcienne» of 1498, dating from the completion of the tower.

Visiting friends, we thank you for your visit, see you soon …

 




Top   Print this page

Recherche :
   

L'ÉGLISE

Triptyque à disposition des visiteurs - téléchargeable

L'église n'est pas qu'un seul lieu de culte, mais aussi culturel.

Ami Visiteur, bonjour !

L'église principale de L’Aigle est placée sous le patronage du grand évêque de Tours, mort en 307. L'édifice forme un ensemble curieux, et harmonieux, dû à cinq époques différentes. L’église fut fondée au XIème siècle. Elle diffère des nombreuses églises qui sont en forme de croix latine. La partie romane restante, en grison (pierre rugueuse de notre pays d’ouche), est composée de son clocher avec son élégante flèche d’ardoise. Elle abrite le baptistère réalisé en 1936 et 1937.

Rue Carnot, l'abside en grison calée par deux solides contreforts, avec trois fenêtres (aveugles) timidement ogivales et, à l'autre extrémité, la façade ouest en pierre avec des éléments de défense (mâchicoulis) au dessus de la grande porte, indiquent la transition XIIème-XIIIème siècles. Une nef voûtée de bois les reliait.

En 1426 (date certifiée par dendrochronologie) l’église s'augmente d'une chapelle du Rosaire occupant ce qui est de nos jours la 1ère travée de la nef nord. Après la Guerre de Cent ans, la prospérité revient. On achève alors trois nouvelles travées, la nef (côté Square P. Girard), et en 1494 s'élève la puissante et majestueuse Tour Saint-Martin, dans le style gothique flamboyant.

Egalement en 1494, les paroissiens fondent une "Confrérie de la Charité". Ces associations de laïcs sont très spécifiques en Normandie, couvrant de nos jours l’Eure et la partie Est de l'Orne (Pays d'Ouche). Elles avaient pour but d'assurer des prières et une sépulture chrétienne aux membres défunts, ainsi que des secours aux familles que le deuil mettait en difficulté. Sortes de sociétés de secours mutuels dont le financement était assuré par les cotisations de chaque membre, suivant ses possibilités. Presque toute la population en faisait partie.

Le Saint Patron de cette « Charité » était St Portien (ou Porcien) dont L'Aigle partage les reliques avec St- Pourçain-sur-Sioul, en Bourbonnais, où ce moine d'Auvergne est vénéré.

La Tour Saint-Martin étant achevée en 1498, les « charitons » offrent la plus grosse de nos cloches de « 4000 livres pesantes, nommée Poursainte » qui depuis plus de 500 ans domine nos carillons.

Enfin de 1542 à 1563 (17 ans !), s’élève la nef méridionale (côté place St Martin) avec sa voûte Renaissance à pendentifs et motifs décoratifs.

Le maître autel et le superbe retable qui le domine sont du XVIIè siècle. Le tableau central « Descente de croix » attribué à Simon Vouet, est entouré de Saint Martin (avec sa mitre) patron de la paroisse et à sa droite le moine Saint Porcien, patron de la cité. Saint Sébastien et Saint Roch, qui avaient également des confréries, voisinent avec eux au fronton, et de nombreux Saints. Il est surplombé par un Christ portant le globe terrestre.

 

Au cours de la révolution l’église devient le « temple de la déesse raison » et à l’extérieur, sous la base des fenêtres, une inscription : « le peuple français croit à l’Etre suprême et à l’immortalité de l’âme ». Cette phrase de Robespierre se lisait encore partiellement vers 1950.

Durant le XIXè siècle, des travaux fut entrepris dits « d’embellissement », pour supprimer les éléments massifs, sans personnalité.

Vers 1890, l’abbé GONTIER fait disparaître la voûte en bardeaux à sept pans derrière une voûte en briques creuses de style ogival.

L’abbé Paul Girard fait procéder en 1936 à la réfection des orgues, en divisant le buffet en deux parties pour dégager la fenêtre ouest, avec son joli vitrail à dominante musicale.

En 1935, il entreprend des travaux de restauration du mobilier, des vitraux et des statues.

Le bombardement du 7 Juin 1944 cause de gros dégâts dont la disparition de six verrières anciennes et deux verrières du XXè siècle.

Dès 1947, le mobilier de l’église Saint Martin est remanié, dans son état actuel où des oeuvres contemporaines fraternisent heureusement avec les anciennes. Les deux vitraux du XVème siècle sont rescapés du désastre: l’un consacré à Saint Porcien, (D) (au-dessus du retable côté place St Martin), l’autre Chasse de Saint Hubert, (J) (4ème travée côté Square Paul Girard)

Les deux vitraux restaurés, s’accommodent fort bien du voisinage des vitraux de notre époque dû à des maîtres-verriers de grand renom : Louis et Jean Barillet et Max Ingrand.

Des réalisations contemporaines de Lambert-Rucki (Christ en croix, Sainte Thérèse, Saint Antoine) s’ajoutent à leurs aînés (Vierge à la figue, Trinité, Saint Jacques) du XVIIème siècle. Une Piéta de Léon Drivier (1951), les grilles du baptistère et les arabesques de cuivre des tables de communion complètent un ensemble artistique apprécié des connaisseurs.

L’abbé Paul GIRARD (1875-1964), curé de 1922 à 1962, est l’artisan de ce renouveau. Il repose devant l’autel du St Sacrement (nef sud). Le square côté nord porte son nom. Rue Thiers, le médaillon de l’abbé GIRARD a été réalisé en 1992 par Serge Santucci, en l’honneur de ses nombreuses autres œuvres pour les habitants. Tous les apports d’après-guerre constituent l’intégration de l’art contemporain dans ce Monument classé Historique en 1992.                                                                                                                                              Statues

A l’extérieur, sur la façade donnant place St Martin, vous verrez bien intégrées dans leurs niches renaissance, 9 statues de sculpteurs connus, réalisées dès 1947 à savoir :

A l’extérieur, portant vos regards vers le ciel, vous détaillerez la tour de l'horloge (élégante) et la Tour St Martin. Cette tour possède une décoration riche « c’est le gothique qui flamboie ». Les contreforts sont ornés d’une statue posée sur des socles de formes variées et très décorées.

Toute la statuaire comporte des drapés qui sont compliqués et profondément taillés pour être vus de loin.                 

On reconnait la plupart :

En complément du décor de cette tour, il faut signaler les armes de Bretagne à l’allège de la fenêtre Est de la façade Sud. Le martèlement de l’hermine centrale peut être le signe d’une modification en réponse à l’ordre donné par Louis XII aux barons de L’Aigle de ne plus s’appeler de Bretagne et de ne plus en porter les armes.

On voit au centre de la balustrade à l’ouest, les armes de L’Aigle, et celles de France, timbrées d’une couronne ouverte indiquant le premier quart du XVIIè siècle sur la tourelle sous la statue du Cardinal. La toiture en pavillon qui la surmonte actuellement est d’une disposition forte ancienne. Il semble qu'un couronnement en pierre n’ait jamais été réalisé. La forme des lucarnes, les traces de peintures sur plomb qui étaient visible en 1840 et l’agencement de ses épis sont d’autant d’éléments qui laissent supposer l’authenticité de cette toiture. En 1951, le toit de la tourelle est remanié par un tailleur de pierre de L'Aigle.

Cette toiture en « fer de hache » est surmontée par deux statues, recouvertes de plomb : un ange et une femme (représentant l’annonciation) qui couronnent les deux poinçons. Au centre, une tige métallique à feuillage en gerbe supporte sur le tout en guise de signature, "l’oiseau du vent et des cimes" qui est notre emblème : un Aigle.

A l’intérieur de la Tour, un énorme beffroi dont l’assise se fait à un niveau très bas dans la tour afin de ne pas ébranler les parties hautes. Trois cloches y sont installées, dont la « La Porcienne» de 1498, datant de l’achèvement de la tour, la plus vieille cloche Normande, qui a failli être fondue à La Révolution.

Amis visiteurs, nous vous remercions de votre passage, et vous disons à bientôt…

 




Haut de page   Imprimer cette page